Nineteen Schools In Selangor Were Ordered To Close After Confirmed COVID-19 Cases

A total of 19 schools in Selangor’s Petaling District have been ordered to temporarily close starting this week for disinfection and close contact tracing of both students and teachers after several confirmed COVID-19 cases were detected.

nineteen schools in selangor were ordered to close after confirmed covid-19 casesPhoto via The Straits Times

According to Astro AWANI, the Petaling District Health Office in a circular informed that the 19 schools include secondary schools (SMK), primary schools (SK), religious schools and national-type schools (SJK) that were ordered to close starting Monday are:

1. SMK Bukit Jelutong

2. SMK Bandar Sri Damansara 2

3. SMK Damansara Jaya

4. SMK Section 7

5. SMK USJ 23

6. SMK Puchong

7. SMK Puchong Utama 1

8. SMK Seksyen 4 Bandar Kinrara

9. SMK Bandar Puncak Jalil

10. SMK Seksyen 20

11. SMK Puchong Perdana

12. SK Puchong Perdana

13. SK Bandar Baru Sri Damansara 2

14. SK Bukit Kuchai

15. SK Bandar Sri Damansara 3

16. SK Bukit Jelutong

17. SK USJ 20

18. Bestari Subang Religious Secondary School

19. SJKC Yuk Chai.

The circular also said that the affected schools must carry out disinfection and ensure all close contacts of the positive cases undergo mandatory quarantine. 

The reopening of the schools will be informed two days before reopening.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Health (MOH) recently announced that six new COVID-19 clusters involved education centres, however, none of them were in Selangor. 

Stay safe, everyone! 

By: Aishah Akashah Ahadiat