Public Transportation Will Continue To Operate During This Period

If you urgently need to go somewhere or if you’re working and you’re commuting via the LRT, don’t worry, RapidKL has your back, fam! Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, operators of Rapid KL rail network in Klang Valley, has revised its services to 30-minute frequencies from 6 am to 12 am daily, including public holidays. 

This new frequency will run from 20 March to 31 March 2020.

public transportation will continue to operate during this periodPhoto via Rapid KL

“We will continue to monitor the demand of passengers. If we see the need to shorten the frequency, additional trains will be sent out. During this period, we highly advise our passengers who still need to take our service, to plan their journeys as well,” said the CEO of Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd, Abdul Hadi Amran.

public transportation will continue to operate during this periodPhoto via The Coverage

Meanwhile, KTMB’s return train service at the Malaysia-Thailand border areas involving the State Railway of Thailand would be temporarily suspended during this period.

Electric Train Service (ETS), KTM Intercity, KTM Komuter and the SkyPark link would be operating as usual. 

KTMB chief executive officer, Datuk Kamarulzaman Zainal said that passengers who want to make amendments or cancel their tickets during the duration of the order should refer to their nearby stations. The refund will be made according to the existing set guidelines which is 14 days after the date of cancellation of the ticket. 

Prasarana Malaysia Berhad (Prasarana) will close the MyRapid Concession Card and Bus Customer Service counters at Pasar Seni from today (20 March)

Students, senior citizens or disabled (OKU) who wish to apply for a new MyRapid Concession Card can still do by submitting their applications online at Rapid KL official website. Each application must be accompanied by relevant supporting documents as published on the website. 

The processing time for new renewal applications will be around 14 working days. Applicants can choose to collect their cards from any of the following stations:

LRT Kelana Jaya Line:

  1. LRT Ara Damansara

  2. LRT Sri Rampai

LRT Ampang/Sri Petaling Line:

  1. LRT Awan Besar

  2. LRT Hang Tuah

  3. LRT Maluri

KL Monorail Line:

  1. Monorail Bukit Bintang (Exit 2)

MRT Sungai Buloh - Kajang Line:

  1. MRT Pusat Bandar Damansara

  2. MRT Merdeka

  3. MRT Bandar Tun Hussein Onn

BRT Sunway Line:

  1. BRT Sun U Monash

For all Touch ‘N Go related transactions or purchase/renewal of My50 will need to be done at the LRT Pasar Seni Customer Service Counter, located above the bus hub.

Customer service counter in Penang (Komtar, Weld Quay, Penang Sentral & Bukit Jambul) and “Hab Bandar” in Kuantan will also be closed until further notice.

Rapid Penang customers with expired Mutiara Passes or with insufficient balance may still ride our busses by showing their pass to our Bus Captains when boarding. 

If there is no urgency for you to travel or commute, please stay home so that we can contain the spread of the COVID-19 virus! 

By: Aishah Akashah Ahadiat